The Matter Network

16 Jul

Good news.   I’ve begun blogging for a very cool website called Matter Network.  It’s a well-organized compendium of renewable energy and sustainability-related news and ideas culled from all corners of the known universe.  My bi-monthly contribution is a blog called reNEWable, where I’ll write about the history of renewable energy and showcase parts of the book-in-progress.  It’s a great opportunity to spread the word about the book and I’m grateful to managing editor David Ferris for showing interest in my project and giving me a platform.

Meanwhile, I’m plugging away at chapter 2, on solar energy, and am now about 30 pages in.  As always, the challenge is finding a balance between present and past.  The deeper I get into this research the more I’ve come to appreciate the value of history.  Even the newest, most cutting edge idea or contraption has some historical precedent that’s not only inherently interesting but valuable for the lessons and wisdom it can impart about what happening today.  That’s the value of history generally, I suppose.

One Response to “The Matter Network”

  1. alexis neiers vanity fair July 21, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Fantastic post. It was exactly what I was looking for. Nice and concise.

Leave a Reply

