Just starting out …

19 Aug

Hi,

I’m Jeremy, and I’m writing a book about alternative energy called “Renewable: A Reporter’s Quest to Make Sense of the Coming Revolution in Alternative Energy.”

The premise is pretty simple: whether we know it or not, whether we like it or not, whether we care or not, energy as we know it is changing.  Sure, oil, coal and natural gas still predominate.  Fossil fuels are entrenched.  But look around and you can’t help but see the unmistakable signs of changes afoot.  Where I live, in southern Indiana, highway lamps are powered by small solar panels.  A veritable fleet of Toyota Priuses (Prusi?) patrol my neighborhood.  (The newest model Prius even comes with a solar panel roof to produce enough juice to power the air conditioning.)  Wind farms are popping up all over the place.  The gas we feed out cars is already around 10% corn ethanol.

So … the energy landscape has already changed, and the pace of change is only going to increase.  And like most people, I know (or knew) only the basics of what’s going on.  Renewable energy is in the news practically every day.  Hundreds of new energy companies are jumping on the bandwagon, competing to see who’ll be the first to invent a green alternative to oil.  Government leaders spout lofty projections about how we’ll be carbon neutral within the next few decades.

But for the average Joe, it’s almost impossible to sift through the hype and get a clear sense of what’s really happening in the world of alt energy.  That’s why I’m writing the book.  Mainly because I’m curious.  One way or another, this stuff is going to affect my life.  Will it mean paying more for energy?  Less?  Is the coming revolution in alternative energy something that will happen while I remain oblivious, or will it thoroughly rock my world?  I want to know.  And I’m betting you do, too.

As I research and write the book I’ll be posting updates here.  I’ll also post links to interesting articles and other blogs.  I hope you’ll check in and leave comments.  Let’s get a conversation going about renewable energy–the good, the bad, the ugly, the pretty–everything.

Leave a Reply

